PDA

View Full Version : Chanter Reeds - No Sound

steveb
27-04-10, 02:54 PM
Hello

Being a novice I am finding it difficult to get a sound out of the chanter.

When the pipe bag is blown up the drones start to sound, but the chanter reed fails to sound.

I have tried 3 different reed types Harris Reedz, Wilson and Megarity, all are "Easy to Medium" and brand new.

Are the reed still to strong for me and should I be using Easy or is it just technique?

Do reeds need to be prepared before first use.

Thank you
Steve

steveb
28-04-10, 04:17 AM
Cheers Scaryguy for your response, very helpful.

I purchased the "Easy to Medium" reeds on the advice of the person selling them after I told him my novice situation (won't mention the name or lay blame).

I do believe I need to go down a level to Easy reeds.

I have been playing the Macedonian Bagpipes for some time and was hoping the transition to be simpler, how wrong was I.

I will try the suggested points of playing with Chanter alone, drones blocked or only 1 drone until I get the hang of the blowing pressure.

No doubt I need an instructor and will actively seek one out.

Thanks
Steve

Heed
28-04-10, 11:08 AM
Steve,

Can only back the last post up, u should seek an instructor. Loads of ways to manipulate reeds, but if you're paying for them yourself, the attrition rate will be too high, and expensive for you. To start with, you should be playing a reed in the "ridiculously easy" class, don't worry what it sounds like at first, its purely to get you used to the technique, and build your stamina up.

It may take a few weeks/months before the sound produced is actually pleasing to the ear, but stick at it, you'll get there. Don't burst a gut blowing, build up gradually.

Hope this helps

steveb
28-04-10, 12:07 PM
I will Heed all the advice given (pardon the pun :bg:) and will go the easy reed and take lessons.

MarinePiper
30-04-10, 10:03 PM