PDA

View Full Version : Saul tuner

bonnieprinceandy
22-08-10, 12:45 PM
Is it worth it?? I've been piping for 3 years and am competing in grade 4 solo comps, will it help me tune on my own??

Gene Mitchell
22-08-10, 09:33 PM
It will help you fine tune to perfection maybe and will definitely help you tune around a lot of noise like on the field. But your ear is the best device I believe. I just tune against the drones, Its a part of the musical ability in playing the pipes that is sadly being overrun. Like my instructor says what if your batteries die? Tell the judge excuse me do you have double AA's haha

ppyper1
23-08-10, 01:59 AM
Tuners are great for a quick fine tune before competition......I also use them to illustrate to beginners how their drones aren't steady (hook it up to a mike so they can see the tuner).....but I agree....don't use it as your only tool. Learn to use your ear.

FDPiper
23-08-10, 03:15 AM
Hi Bonnprinceandy,
I have not used the Saul tuner. Having learned the pipes when people laughed at the thought of a Star Trek communicator that everyone would carry on their belt to communicate with another person who also had one on their belt... So, I will talk in general.

A tuner is a really great tool for a day to day comparison. When the PM has been fiddling with reeds, and needs a reality check to come back into tune with the "rest of the band" - it's a great tool! I dread being at 475 one week, then at a parade the following weekend, need to tune up to 480 - the tuner will tell you where you are tuning, and help with consistency.

But by benchmarking where your chanter is on a hot dry day versus a humid/drizzly damp cold day, you will really learn how weather can really impact your tuning.