PDA

View Full Version : How many music books do you have?

Scarlet O'Hair
16-02-08, 01:16 PM
I haven't counted yet, and won't have time today (on the way to a practice then to play in the NorthBay Gala) but am realizing I'm building up quite a collection of music books both for drumming and piping.

How many are in your collection?

UpstatePiper
16-02-08, 01:50 PM
I've got about a linear foot (on a shelf) of books. They are a combination of music books and books about music. The music books are mostly fiddle books, but I do have a few pipe music books (so far).

My wife, a violinist, has file cabinets for music.

Scarlet O'Hair
17-02-08, 11:01 PM
I have file cabinets of music as well, loose photo copies and stuff.....I just can't bring myself to throw anything out!!!!

*scarlet scampers off to count her books*

Pete Walen
18-02-08, 12:24 AM
Define "music books."

I have 4 books of pipe tunes (an' I'm a drummer!) I have NO IDEA how many tunes I downloaded from pipetunes.ca (a bunch). I have many many books on traditional music, collections etc., Some very nice copies of song books and fiddle tune collections "with lyrics and music transcribed for the piano-forte" from the late 1800s (including a copy of O'Neill's - no, it stays put, the reprint I have gets pulled out and used when needed.) A file drawer of choice stuff - reprints of books and bradsheet collections from the early 1800s. And stacks of drum books. Far too many to count.

Itchyknee
24-02-08, 11:29 AM
I have far too many, most go back to my Ebay-addict period a few years back when I bought almost anything piping related. I have dozens of books and am constantly adding to them. My wife refers to my collection as "the fire hazard".

Vikki
24-02-08, 11:51 AM
well i've bout 6/7 of the NIPDS "books" piping & drumming wise... i have none, just photocopies. and a small collection at that.

i have quite a few piano books though, and a few accordian ones somewhere. oh, and 1 violin book...

jessierose