PDA

View Full Version : history lessons

Deadbeat
25-07-09, 07:20 PM
Hello everyone!
Im new to the pipe band world. I started with FSPD this year as a fill in bass drummer. As it turns out, looks like Ill be the primary guy for the job. I absolutely am loving the whole thing... the uniqueness of the sound, the atmosphere at competitions, hell even parades!

The history of the pipe band fascinates me... everything from war time to present day events. (I get some fantastic stories from then, to now, at the beer tent. Let me tell you ;) )

But what I'm most interested in at this moment. Is the different types of tunes, and what they were played for, and feel associated with the tune? I think an understanding of this will help me. So if any of you good folks could please explain. Im all ears!

jessierose
26-07-09, 05:39 AM
Well...dance tunes are played for people to hop around to, marches are played for people to march around to, and piobaireachd are played for people to mill around to.
That's my take on it, anyway.

Deadbeat
26-07-09, 05:51 AM
Well...dance tunes are played for people to hop around to, marches are played for people to march around to, and piobaireachd are played for people to mill around to.
That's my take on it, anyway.

:cb: must be more to it than that

jessierose
26-07-09, 06:13 AM
Ok....perhaps that was an oversimplification.

getawaytae
26-07-09, 12:02 PM
Pipe bands are traditionally thought to have been formed by the Army, and although this may be disputed, the standardization of the instrument and the main use that early pipe bands were put to was with the military.
In the clan system the clan piper was used as a rallying point for gathering the clan members together in the confusion of a battle. The Army used drummers for a similar purpose. In addition musicians were used to convey signal messages around the battlefield.